Fabrice Labeau

Fabrice Labeau

Personal Gender Pronouns
McGill University
IEEE Region
Region 07 (Canada)
Technical Area
Signal processing and digital transmission, 5G/B5G/6G and cellular systems
Spoken Languages



Contact Menu

F. Labeau is the Deputy Provost (Student Life and Learning) at McGill University. His research interests are in applications of signal processing. He has (co-)authored more than 200 papers in refereed journals and conference proceedings in these areas. At McGill, he has held different administrative positions, including Graduate Program Director, Acting Department Chair, Associate Dean (Faculty Affairs) and Acting Dean. He is currently the Planning Chief for the University’s Emergency Operations Center. He is the Director of Operations of STARaCom, an interuniversity research center grouping 50 professors and 500 researchers from 10 universities in the province of Quebec, Canada. He is Senior Past President of the IEEE Sensors Council, former President (2014-2015) of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society, and a former chair of the Montreal IEEE Section. He was a recipient in 2015 and 2017 of the McGill University Equity and Community Building Award (team category), of the 2008 and 2016 Outstanding Service Award from the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society and of the 2017 W.S. Read Outstanding Service Award form IEEE Canada. He was recognized in 2018 “Ambassadeur Accrédité” for the Montreal Convention Center.

IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Position History:
  • Present   IEEE Sustainable ICT Initiative Representative (Liaisons & Representatives)
  • 2021-Present   IEEE Systems Council Rep - Primary (Liaisons & Representatives)
  • 2020-Present   Secretary (Executive Committee)
  • 2020-Present   Conference Committee Member (Conference Committee)
  • 2020-Present   Publications Committee Member (Publications Committee)
  • 2020-Present   Secretary (VTS Officers)
  • 2018-Present   DL Committee Program Coordinator (Distinguished Lecturer Committee)
  • 2018-Present   Publicity Committee Member (Publicity Committee)
  • 2020-2022   Elected BoG Member (Board of Governors)
  • 2020-2021   Nominations Chair (Nominations and Appointments Committee)
  • 2017-2018   Volunteer Engagement Chair (Volunteer Engagement Committee)
  • 2017-2017   Vice President Membership (Executive Committee)
  • 2017-2017   Vice President Membership (VTS Officers)
  • 2014-2015   President (Executive Committee)
  • 2014-2015   President (VTS Officers)
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.