Junil Choi

Junil Choi

KAIST, Electrical Engineering
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)
Spoken Languages



Junil Choi received the B.S. (with honors) and M.S. degrees in electrical engineering from Seoul National University in 2005 and 2007, respectively, and received the Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Purdue University in 2015. He is now with the school of electrical engineering at KAIST as an (Named) Ewon Associate Professor.

From 2007 to 2011, he was a member of technical staff at Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology (SAIT) and Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd. in Korea, where he contributed to advanced codebook and feedback framework designs for the 3GPP LTE/LTE-Advanced and IEEE 802.16m standards. Before joining KAIST, he was a postdoctoral fellow at The University of Texas at Austin from 2015 to 2016 and an assistant professor at POSTECH from 2016 to 2019. His research interests are in the design and analysis of massive MIMO, mmWave communication systems, distributed reception, and vehicular communication systems.

Dr. Choi was a co-recipient of the 2022 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Best Vehicular Electronics Paper Award, the 2021 IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Neal Shepherd Memorial Best Propagation Award, the 2019 IEEE Communications Society Stephen O. Rice Prize, the 2015 IEEE Signal Processing Society Best Paper Award, and the 2013 Global Communications Conference (GLOBECOM) Signal Processing for Communications Symposium Best Paper Award. He was awarded the Michael and Katherine Birck Fellowship from Purdue University in 2011, the Korean Government Scholarship Program for Study Overseas in 2011-2013, the Purdue University ECE Graduate Student Association (GSA) Outstanding Graduate Student Award in 2013, the Purdue College of Engineering Outstanding Student Research Award in 2014, the IEEE ComSoc AP region Outstanding Young Researcher Award in 2017, the NSF Korea and Elsevier Young Researcher Award in 2018, the KICS Haedong Young Researcher Award in 2019, and the IEEE Communications Society Communication Theory Technical Committee Early Achievement Award in 2021. He is an associate editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications, IEEE Transactions on Communications, IEEE Communications Letters and IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society.

Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.