Abbas Jamalipour

Abbas Jamalipour

Personal Gender Pronouns
University of Sydney
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)

Contact Menu

Abbas Jamalipour is the chair Professor of Ubiquitous Mobile Networking at the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at University of Sydney, Australia, and holds a PhD in Electrical Engineering from Nagoya University, Japan. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Institute of Electrical, Information, and Communication Engineers (IEICE), and the Institution of Engineers Australia (IEA), an ACM Professional Member, and an IEEE Distinguished Speaker. He has authored nine technical books, eleven book chapters, over 550 technical papers, and five patents, all in the field of wireless communications. 

Dr. Jamalipour was the VTS President (2020-2021) and now serves as an elected member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Vehicular Technology Society. He was the Editor-in-Chief IEEE Wireless Communications, Vice President-Conferences and a member of Board of Governors of the IEEE Communications Society. He serves as an Editor of IEEE Access, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, and several other journals. He has been a General Chair or Technical Program Chair for a number of conferences, including IEEE ICC, GLOBECOM, VTC, WCNC and PIMRC. He is the recipient of several prestigious awards such as the 2019 IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Technical Achievement Award in Green Communications, the 2016 IEEE ComSoc Distinguished Technical Achievement Award in Communications Switching and Routing, the 2010 IEEE ComSoc Harold Sobol Award, the 2006 IEEE ComSoc Best Tutorial Paper Award, as well as over fifteen Best Paper Awards.

IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Position History:
  • Present   IEEE IoT Initiative Representative (Liaisons & Representatives)
  • 2024-Present   Committee on Drones Member (Committee on Drones)
  • 2023-Present   Senior Past President (Executive Committee)
  • 2023-Present   Elected BoG Member (Board of Governors)
  • 2023-Present   Nominations Member (Nominations and Appointments Committee)
  • 2022-Present   IEEE Future Networks Representative (Liaisons & Representatives)
  • 2022-Present   Publications Committee Member (Publications Committee)
  • 2022-Present   Editor-in-Chief TVT (Editors-in-Chief)
  • 2022-Present   Treasurer (VTS Officers)
  • 2022-Present   Editor-in-Chief TVT (TVT Editorial Board)
  • 2022-Present   5G Initiative Committee Member (5G Initiative)
  • 2020-Present   Publicity Committee Member (Publicity Committee)
  • 2018-Present   Awards Committee Member (Awards Committee)
  • Past   Associate Editor - Wireless Networks and Mobile Services (TVT Editorial Board)
  • 2022-2022   Junior Past President (Executive Committee)
  • 2020-2022   Elected BoG Member (Board of Governors)
  • 2020-2021   President (Executive Committee)
  • 2020-2021   President (VTS Officers)
  • Recognitions:
  • 2019-2022 Distinguished Speaker
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.