Zhaocheng Wang

Zhaocheng Wang

Tsinghua University
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)

Contact Menu

Prof. Wang received his B.S., M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from Tsinghua University in 1991, 1993 and 1996, respectively. From 1996 to 1997, he was a Post-Doctoral Fellow with Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. From 1997 to 1999, he was a Research Engineer/Senior Engineer with OKI Techno Centre Pte. Ltd., Singapore. From 1999 to 2009, he was a Senior Engineer/Principal Engineer with Sony Deutschland GmbH, Germany. Since 2009, he has been a Professor with Department of Electronic Engineering, Tsinghua University, where he is currently the Director of Broadband Communication Key Laboratory, Beijing National Research Center for Information Science and Technology (BNRist).

Prof. Wang is internationally well-known for a large number of high-quality original granted patents and publications in high-impact journals. His research interests include millimeter wave communications, terahertz wireless communications, optical wireless communications and AI-empowered wireless communications. He hold 34 US/EU granted patents (23 of them as the first inventor). Several granted US/EU patents have been accepted by a plurality of international standards like IEEE802.11n, DVB-T2, IEEE802.15.3c, ECMA387 and etc. Besides that, he authored or co-authored two books, which have been selected by IEEE Series on Digital & Mobile Communication and published by Wiley-IEEE Press. Prof. Wang published more than 180 peer-reviewed journal papers. He has over 14000 Google citations and his H-index is 61.

Prof. Wang is a Fellow of the Institution of Engineering and Technology. He is currently an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Communications, an Associate Editor for the IEEE Systems Journal, and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Open Journal of Vehicular Technology. He was an Associate Editor for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications from 2011 to 2015 and an Associate Editor for the IEEE Communications Letters from 2013 to 2016. He was also Signal Processing for Optical Wireless Communications Symposium Co-Chair of IEEE GlobalSIP2015, Optical Wireless Communications Symposium Co-Chair of OECC2015 and Wireless Communications Symposium Co-Chair of IEEE ICC 2013. He was the recipient of ICC2013 Best Paper Award, OECC2015 Best Student Paper Award, 2016 IEEE Scott Helt Memorial Award, 2016 IET Premium Award, 2016 National Award for Science and Technology Progress (First Prize), ICC2017 Best Paper Award, 2018 IEEE ComSoc Asia-Pacific Outstanding Paper Award and 2020 IEEE ComSoc Leonard G. Abraham Prize.

Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.