Land Transportation

Technical Committee Menu


The Land Transportation Division is a standing Technical Committee of IEEE Vehicular Technology Society that covers the technology relating to electrical and/or electronic aspects of ground transportation (VTS Bylaws Article VIII, Sec 2.4), including the components and systems used in both automated and non-automated facets of ground transport technology (VTS ConstitutionArticle II, Sec 1(c)).

The Land Transportation Committee covers a complete Field of Interest of the Society, namely, Land Transportation. Hence, at the discretion of the members concerned and approval by the VTS Board of Governors, the Land Transportation Committee was designated as a Division of the Society, and functions as a sub-entity of the Society (VTS Bylaws Article VIII, Sec 2.1).

Currently, the major field of interest is rail transportation systems, including high-speed rails, mainline rails, transit systems, and Light Rail systems. The Land Transportation Division has jointly sponsored the ASME/IEEE Joint Rail Conference with the Rail Transportation Division of ASME for over fifty years.

Committee Roster