Aylin Yener

Aylin Yener

Penn State University

Contact Menu

Aylin Yener received the B.Sc. degree in electrical and electronics engineering and the B.Sc. degree in physics from Bogazici University, Istanbul, Turkey, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in electrical and computer engineering from Wireless Information Network Laboratory (WINLAB), Rutgers University, New Brunswick, NJ, USA. She is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA, USA, since 2010, where she joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor in 2002. Since 2017, she is a Dean’s Fellow in the College of Engineering at The Pennsylvania State University. She is currently also a Visiting Professor at the Department of Electrical Engineering, Stanford University, Stanford, CA, USA. From 2008 to 2009, she was a Visiting Associate Professor with the same department.

Yener received the NSF CAREER award in 2003, the Best Paper Award in Communication Theory in the IEEE International Conference on Communications in 2010, the Penn State Engineering Alumni Society (PSEAS) Outstanding Research Award in 2010, the IEEE Marconi Prize Paper Award in 2014, the PSEAS Premier Research Award in 2014, and the Leonard A. Doggett Award for Outstanding Writing in Electrical Engineering at Penn State in 2014. She is a fellow of the IEEE.
Yener’s research interests are in information theory, communication theory, fundamental performance limits of networked and complex systems, information security, energy harvesting communications and coded caching.

Yener is currently a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Information Theory Society, where she was previously the treasurer (2012-2014). She served as the student committee chair for the IEEE Information Theory Society 2007 – 2011, and was the co-founder of the Annual School of Information Theory in North America co-organizing the school in 2008, 2009, and 2010. She was a technical (co)-chair for various symposia/tracks at the IEEE ICC, PIMRC, VTC, WCNC, and Asilomar (2005-2014). She served as an editor for the IEEE Transactions on Communications (2009 – 2012), an editor and an editorial advisory board member for the IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications}(2001-2012), and a guest editor for the IEEE Transactions on Information Forensics and Security (2011) and the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (2015). Currently, she serves on the editorial board of the IEEE Transactions on Mobile Computing and as a senior editor for the IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications.

  • 2017-2024 Distinguished Speaker
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.