Dapeng Wu

Dapeng Wu

City University of Hong Kong
IEEE Region
Region 10 (Asia and Pacific)
Technical Area
Vehicular communications and connected vehicles

Contact Menu

Dapeng Oliver Wu (S'98--M'04--SM'06--F'13)  received a B.E. degree in electrical engineering from Huazhong University of Science and Technology, Wuhan, China, in 1990, an M.E. degree in electrical engineering from Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, Beijing, China, in 1997, and a Ph.D. degree in electrical and computer engineering from Carnegie Mellon University, Pittsburgh, PA, in 2003.

He is Yeung Kin Man Chair Professor of Network Science, and Chair Professor of Data Engineering at the Department of Computer Science, City University of Hong Kong.  Previously, he was on the faculty of University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA and was the director of NSF Center for Big Learning, USA.  His research interests are in the areas of networking, communications, signal processing, computer vision, machine learning, smart grid, and information and network security. He received University of Florida Term Professorship Award in 2017, University of Florida Research Foundation Professorship Award in 2009, AFOSR Young Investigator Program (YIP) Award in 2009, ONR Young Investigator Program (YIP) Award in 2008, NSF CAREER award in 2007, the IEEE Circuits and Systems for Video Technology (CSVT) Transactions Best Paper Award for Year 2001, and the Best Paper Awards in IEEE GLOBECOM 2011 and International Conference on Quality of Service in Heterogeneous Wired/Wireless Networks (QShine) 2006.

He has served as Editor in Chief of IEEE Transactions on Network Science and Engineering, Editor-at-Large for IEEE Open Journal of the Communications Society, founding Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Advances in Multimedia, and Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Cloud Computing, IEEE Transactions on Communications, IEEE Transactions on Signal and Information Processing over Networks, IEEE Signal Processing Magazine, IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems for Video Technology, IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications and IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology. He is also a guest-editor for IEEE Journal on Selected Areas in Communications (JSAC), Special Issue on Cross-layer Optimized Wireless Multimedia Communications and Special Issue on Airborne Communication Networks.  He has served as Technical Program Committee (TPC) Chair for IEEE INFOCOM 2012, and TPC chair for IEEE International Conference on Communications (ICC 2008), Signal Processing for Communications Symposium, and as a member of executive committee and/or technical program committee of over 100 conferences. He was elected as a Distinguished Lecturer by  IEEE Vehicular Technology Society in 2016.  He has served as Chair for the Award Committee, and Chair of Mobile and wireless multimedia Interest Group (MobIG), Technical Committee on Multimedia Communications, IEEE Communications Society. He was an elected member of Multimedia Signal Processing Technical Committee, IEEE Signal Processing Society from Jan. 1, 2009 to Dec. 31, 2012.  He is an IEEE Fellow.

  • 2020-2026 Distinguished Speaker
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.