Junmin Wang

Junmin Wang

University of Texas at Austin
IEEE Region
Region 05 (Southwestern U.S.)

Contact Menu

Dr. Junmin Wang is a professor in the Walker Department of Mechanical Engineering at The University of Texas at Austin and holds the Lee Norris & Linda Steen Norris Endowed Professorship.  He received a B.E. degree (with honors) in Automotive Engineering and his first M.S. degree in Power Machinery and Engineering from Tsinghua University, Beijing China in 1997 and 2000, respectively; his second and third M.S. degrees in Electrical Engineering and Mechanical Engineering from the University of Minnesota, Twin Cities in 2003, and the Ph.D. degree in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Texas at Austin in 2007.  Prof. Wang started his academic career at Ohio State University as assistant professor in 2008 and was early promoted to associate professor in September 2013 and then very early promoted to full professor in June 2016.  In 2018, he left Ohio State University and joined the University of Texas at Austin as an Accenture Endowed Professor in Mechanical Engineering. Dr. Wang has a wide range of research interests covering control, modeling, estimation, optimization, and diagnosis of dynamical systems, especially for automotive, vehicle, transportation, sustainable mobility, and human-automation applications.  He has five years of full-time industrial research experience (2003-2008) at Southwest Research Institute (San Antonio, Texas) where he was a Senior Research Engineer and led research projects sponsored by more than 50 industrial companies and governmental agencies worldwide.  Prof. Wang’s research program has been funded by federal agencies and industrial companies such as the National Science Foundation (NSF), the Office of Naval Research (ONR), the Department of Energy (DOE), the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA), the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), Texas Department of Transportation, GM, Ford, Honda, Tenneco, Eaton, Denso, Ftech, and others.

Prof. Wang is a recipient of seven best paper awards from IEEE, ASME, and SAE, 2018 Ohio State University Lumley Interdisciplinary Research Award, 2015 Ohio State University Harrison Faculty Award for Excellence in Engineering Education, 2012 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER Award, 2012 Ohio State University Lumley Research Award, 2011 SAE International Vincent Bendix Automotive Electronics Engineering Award, and 2009 Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program (ONR-YIP) Award. Prof. Wang served as an IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Distinguished Lecturer (2015-2019) and IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Distinguished Speaker. He is an SAE Fellow, ASME Fellow, and IEEE Fellow.

Professor Junmin Wang was elected as a voting member of the ASME Dynamic Systems and Controls Division Executive Committee, has served as General Chair of 2023 IEEE International Automated Vehicle Validation Conference, General Chair of 2021 (inaugural) IFAC Modeling, Estimation and Control Conference, an Senior Editor, Editor, Technical Editor, or Associate Editor for the IEEE Vehicular Technology Magazine, IEEE Transactions on Vehicular Technology, IEEE/ASME Transactions on Mechatronics, IFAC Control Engineering Practice, IFAC Mechatronics, ASME Transactions Journal of Dynamic Systems, Measurement and Control, ASME Journal of Autonomous Vehicles and Systems, Vehicle Systems Dynamics, Journal of the Franklin Institute, and SAE International Journal of Engines. He has served as Chair of the ASME Automotive and Transportation Systems Technical Committee, Chair of the SAE International Control and Calibration Committee, and Vice Chair of the IFAC Technical Committee on Mechatronic Systems.

Prof. Wang has supervised 18 Ph.D. students and 2 post-doc researchers to completion with 12 of them being faculty members at various universities and 8 of them as researchers in industry and government. Dr. Wang is the author or co-author of more than 400 peer-reviewed publications including 198 journal articles and 13 U.S. / European patents

IEEE Vehicular Technology Society Position History:
  • Present   Associate Editor (OJVT Editorial Board)
  • Recognitions:
  • 2019-2025 Distinguished Speaker
  • Outdated or incorrect contact information? Please click here to update us with the correct information.